Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

2017-06-07T08:59:34+02:00

3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!

Posted by Laura-Louise Slattery
3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!

HOORAH! THE DCEU IS SAVED! THANK YOU PATTY JENKINS! THANK YOU GAL GADOT! THIS MOVIE WAS EVERYTHING WONDER WOMAN SHOULD HAVE BEEN AND MORE.

So yes, I’m a little bit obsessed with the Wonder Woman movie. It was perfect in every single way. I loved it so much that I went to see it twice this weekend in the cinema. The movie is still very fresh in my mind and is definitely the best DC superhero movie to come out that takes the cake in terms of story, characters, and action. It had everything. I still can’t stop thinking about it even now as I write this blog post. Here are 3 little things I loved about the Wonder Woman movie:

1 . The Humour

First things first: the jokes and humour in this movie were spot on. There was no gag or joke that felt flat or forced. Each character had a fun and subtle sense of humour to them that didn’t feel incredibly cheesy and thrown right in your face. The thing I loved about the humour in Wonder Woman was that it was very subtle and wasn’t laugh-out-loud hilarious. This was something I liked very much because the humour didn’t overtake the movie in any way and remained an almost quiet type of humour which is what I felt worked best.

There are certain superhero flicks such as Iron Man or Guardians of the Galaxy (which I both love deeply) that tend to focus more on humour and laugh-out-loud gags which dominate most of the movie. With Wonder Woman, the humour is there but it’s very quiet and only pops out in the most subtle way when needed. The humour and funny quirks are used when most necessary as the movie is set in the grim dark landscape of World War I. The jokes were light and mild which contrasted perfectly with the bleak war-stricken world Diana found herself willing to protect at all costs.

In no way did the more comedic characters overtake the scenes they were placed in and each funny quirk didn’t feel over the top or awkward. It worked well and it is in no way a family-friendly superhero movie. The comedy was subtle for a reason. War is a brutal, violent, and a horrible place and in this World War I setting, the humour had to be kept to a small minimum. It felt so good to watch a superhero movie where war was portrayed in such a real and gritty way. The small doses of humour here and there really helped to emphasize that.

3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!
2. Diana and Steve's Relationship

I loved the way in which Diana Prince and Steve Trevor’s relationship formed throughout the movie. It was so believable and sweet, and overall took its time. These characters took their time and you could feel the exact moments where their feelings for each other came into contact. Some of my favourite scenes from the movie were the cute sweet scenes with Diana and Steve getting to know to each other, their quirks and differences bouncing off each other, and moments were they grew closer romantically.

Gal Gadot and Chris Pine really embodied the roles of Diana and Steve so well and their on-set chemistry definitely played a huge part in making that relationship blossom on screen. Their dialogue was very well written and you could understand why these two characters were attracted to each other. They both taught each other so much about war and the cruelty it can bring. Diana comes from Themyscira, a paradise island populated by female amazonian warriors who are taught and trained to protect mankind from the corrupted and destructive Ares, the god of war. Steve is a an American spy working to put an end to the World War, the great war that has witnessed millions of deaths and acts of violence. When Steve crash lands on Themyscira, he begins to learn more about the culture of the amazons and about Diana’s way of life. When Diana decides to leave her home island to accompany Steve to help put a stop to Ares, Diana learns more about the world outside of Themyscira and about the World War as well as the violence and death it brings. These characters learn so much from each other and these two contrasts really helped to show how different they were from each other which in turn brought them closer together.

Diana’s will to protect and bring an end to Ares whom she believes is behind World War I radiates in Steve, and his selflessness and bravery helps her to realize that not all of mankind are evil and violent. I thought the relationship between Diana and Steve was written in such a sweet way and you could understand why they had strong feelings for each other and how real and heart-wrenching those feelings become towards the end of the movie. One of my new favourite superhero pairings.

3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!
3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!
3. The Music!

Oh my god, the musical score in this movie was amazing! It fit Wonder Woman’s character so well. Some of my favourite tracks so far have to be “No Man’s Land” and “Wonder Woman’s Wrath”. The whole score is just exciting and epic and worked so well with each action scene and emotional-gripping scene they were placed in. I’m so excited to listen to more of the soundtrack and cry streams of ugly tears because my god the soundtrack to Wonder Woman is simply breathtaking.

Rupert Gregson-Williams did such a fantastic job at composing this score that continuously surprised me at every turn. Every time I listen to it now, I am immediately brought back to one of Wonder Woman’s mind-blowing battle scenes or some of the lighter romantic scenes with Diana and Steve. One of my favourite scenes had to have been when Diana is so struck and shocked from the brutality of the war around her that she decides to take off her robe, revealing her amazon armour, and walks fearlessly towards the trenches of German troops ahead of her. The track/scene evoked so much emotion in me when I was watching it and it perfectly grabbed the compassion and determination Diana had to stop the suffering of the World War. I can’t recommend this soundtrack enough.

3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!
3 Things I Loved About Wonder Woman!

There were so many other things I loved about this movie but I didn’t want this blog post to drag on too much. I can’t even muster into words how much this movie impacted me positively and emotionally. When I was walking out of the cinema with my friends, I had this new more positive view on life and love, and how important it is to spread more love and hope in times of war and grief, especially after all the dreadful terror attacks that have been occurring around the world. I do think Wonder Woman explains exactly why love is the answer and how hatred and violence only breeds more violence and hatred. Wonder Woman is a movie everyone needs to watch. The messages and tones on war and humankind in this movie are so powerful and thought-provoking. Wonder Woman, you did good girl!

Why did you all think of Wonder Woman? Did you love it as much I did? Let me know in the comments. I’m off to listen to Rupert Gregson-Williams’ incredible score for the rest of the day while I cry over how much I adore this gem of a movie. Thank you for reading!

 

See comments

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
comments

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon - Hosted by Overblog